View Full Version : whos using yessy art gallery
arcdawg
04-19-2006, 12:50 PM
its a online art gallery and I was wondering if anyone has had any luck with their services ?
fused
04-19-2006, 01:55 PM
I had never heard of it (http://www.yessy.com/) until you made this post,
the sculpture section (http://www.yessy.com/art/sculptures/) is certainly an odd mix.
Studioinde
04-19-2006, 04:41 PM
i've never heard of them before, which doesn't mean much, but I agree that their sculpture section is a bit unusual. As long as they are not asking you to pay for displaying your work, I say go for it. Find out what the commission is on sales before you move forward.......
KeithBentley
05-05-2006, 10:22 PM
I've never heard of them but from what I have seen - I wouldn't pay for it.
If it's free though, then go for it. Why not.
ilona
05-06-2006, 07:30 AM
Ok, I agree with those of you who aren't impressed with the content there.
Which brings me to my next question, and maybe arcdawg won't mind me asking it here because it might help him too...are there any reputable online galleries that anyone can recommend?
Landseer
05-06-2006, 10:06 AM
Ok, I agree with those of you who aren't impressed with the content there.
Which brings me to my next question, and maybe arcdawg won't mind me asking it here because it might help him too...are there any reputable online galleries that anyone can recommend?I don't know any but I'd be real carefull where you put content, wetcanvas.com is claiming ownership of my 8 images now and making money off artist's content as a commercial venture.
If you download their advertising media kit it shows they are selling ad space as well as "impressions" and click thru's for a considerable sum of money on a monthly fee basis.
I've sent complaints and notices to their advertisers and sponsors- including Dick Blick who was very sympathetic, their ISP and others.
I'm about to file a small claims lawsuit against them once I get the owner's physical address-their domain registration address is bogus, their phone number is also bogus, and after I tracked down the founder and emailed him he - Scott Burket apparantly sold the site to these new people.
They don't respond to email, their contact email information bounces or is false.
Their ISP said they will force removal of my content once I get a judgement from small claims court.
I don't like being fooled, ripped off or having MY content stolen thru subterfuge means to make money off, so I'm going after these people in several ways.
Their entire web site may go down on Tuesday or Weds if I don't have that address.
ilona
05-06-2006, 12:31 PM
Git 'em. I have no sympathy for any scam artists. It's hard enough making an honest living as an artist, without getting ripped off.
I actually did find a nice list of links which I will print here:
http://www.sculptor.org/Galleries/OnlineGalleries.htm
Some of them may be reputable, but thanks for giving us a heads up, Landseer. I will read all the fine print before I commit to anything.
rickb
05-07-2006, 08:07 AM
I don't know any but I'd be real carefull where you put content, wetcanvas.com is claiming ownership of my 8 images now and making money off artist's content as a commercial venture.
Land, what are they doing with your images?
Landseer
05-08-2006, 09:09 PM
Land, what are they doing with your images?They are claiming they have the rights to all content posted on their site- including images- to use any way they see fit forever with no payment or royalties.
They have about a 15 page "user agreement" and it's buried way down in there. It appears to be the standard included "user agreement" these forum software packages come with- you know the ones that go into detail about how you are not to post raciest, threatening etc material, and that the moderators can move edit or delete your posts etc etc ad nausia, but THIS outfit has a bunch of other stuff buried way down in there that probably no one ever reads.
Wetcanvas is a for profit commercial site with message board like this one, but the difference is the place is plastered with ads and banners and if you look around and find their media kit, download and read it you will find that they are selling ad space and impressions as well as click-thru's for a considerable amount every month to businesses like Dick Blick based on the site's content, images and traffic.
So they are using everyone's content to make money off forever while paying nothing to the original owners to use this content like this.
I object to my personal photos being used by a third party to make money off when *I* don't even make money from these!
They claim they "cant" remove or edit content- against their policy, yet when I posted some warnings about their using people's images like this, and I uploaded some images with them- they removed THOSE and even carefully removed them from the thread where my other photos are while being sure to leave the original photos- a bunch of pricks, what can I say.
I took care of one of the photos which I had simply linked to- I replaced the remote file with a far more "interesting" one which has been up there for a week without their even noticing :)
I have heard back from a few of their sponsors whom I emailed about this.
What is the difference between them and this forum you ask? THIS forum does not have banner ads nor lock up author's content, nor claim rights to publish and use.
rickb
05-09-2006, 04:50 PM
Arcdawg, sorry for wandering off the original yessy topic...
Land,
I always assumed that wetcanvas was paid for by ads. Maybe it wasnt always so clear when you signed up. Hosting a a big site is not free -- just the small claims actions alone :)..
Is WetCanvas currently using your images for anything besides your original postings?
Landseer
05-09-2006, 07:37 PM
Arcdawg, sorry for wandering off the original yessy topic...
Land,
I always assumed that wetcanvas was paid for by ads. Maybe it wasnt always so clear when you signed up. Hosting a a big site is not free -- just the small claims actions alone :)..
Is WetCanvas currently using your images for anything besides your original postings?I don't have a problem with ads or using ads to pay the costs, but not only is that the case but they are "selling" the fact that they have 30,000 or so royalty free reference images posted by participants as well as the user content. Their media kit also mentions that their automated DATA MINING is included as a service in the "silver" category $2,500 a year fee- and up to their "gold" advertiser category which is priced $5,000 a year.
They also get unlimtied user accounts for that fee with which they can spam users with more ads. Some of their other fees in their rate chart top $20,000
Right now my images are very new there, but the moderator LOCKED the entire thread up and banned my account, not that I care since IP bans don't work.
rickb
05-09-2006, 08:15 PM
OK, now i get it. wow.
sculptor
05-10-2006, 09:54 AM
Ownership of images
dicey subject
if michaelangelo's biographer was accurate,
michaelangelo went in one night and carved
"this was made my michael angelo of florence"
on the pieta
to reclaim one of his images after hearing someone atribute it to another sculptor
and so it goes-
just a curiousity------more info on the "replacement picture"?
I've been reworking an images file for cd and each image will have text with my name and info about the piece overlain on the background
one site emails me everytime someone downloads one of my images----
and the concept of ISIS with Osiris on her hair has been redone(copied-reused-taken off from-) by 3 painters that I know of------actually just a tad flatering--------
none of which bothers me
but-your concerns landseer (added on to michaelangelo's)will help guide me to assure that text is included in future postings
as/re wetcanvas-maybe it's my modem, but I've found the site cumbersome and hard to use
and I ain't fond of datamining neither
rod
Landseer
05-11-2006, 12:27 PM
but-your concerns landseer (added on to michaelangelo's)will help guide me to assure that text is included in future postings Text is good idea and if you want more control then park them on photobucket or something and link to them rather than uploading to someone else's server where you may never beable to remove them should you wish to.
as/re wetcanvas-maybe it's my modem, but I've found the site cumbersome and hard to use
and I ain't fond of data mining neither It's not your modem it's how wetcanvas.com is, and yes, according to their own ad promoting text they datamine the content and make this available to their advertisers, I assume this includes your email address and any other information you provide.
The entire site should be going down tomorrow as they haven't responded, they have one more day I'm told.
EDIT in;
It appears as though I have finally convinced these people to see things my way and save themselves a lot of work and headaches- my images have been removed tonight but only after further demonstraiting an educational "tour de force" they won't forget any time soon.
Now I'm done with 'em, they could have saved themselves all of this had they simply done what I asked nicely the FIRST time. They may still go down tomorrow anyway but that's beyond my control now- they don't reply to emails and some of them are bogus, so that's their loss!
margeaux
11-24-2007, 11:39 AM
:confused: Speaking of Yessy........What has happened to the site? I get a page saying the server doesn't exist, etc. etc. All the links I've tried on Google bring up the same page. It was there yesterday, today it's gone. I doubt they're just doing maintenance, as most sites will tell you this so you know why you can't get in. :confused:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.