Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Figurative Sculpture
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-31-2005, 11:40 AM
Level 1 user

Big names in contemporary figurative sculpture

Hi all,

I'm a young Artist new to Sculpture.net and new to Sculpture in general.
I have a general question...
My interest is classical figurative work and I'm trying to get a handle on the industry as it is today.
What are the big names of contemporary figurative sculpture?
Are the Studios in Pietrasantra the best in the world?
I mean in a purely technical sense as in correct anatomy, traditional carving techniques & finish etc.
Outside of Italy, Christina Mikulasek seems to be one of the best.
http://www.mikulasek.com/
Is there many others still working in this vein?

I hope people will post a few names and that you'll all forgive my ignorance,

Thursday
Old 01-31-2005, 09:11 PM
Sculptor

Re: Big names in contemporary figurative sculpture

There's quite a range, and I'll take a bit of time later to post a few. Some have been mentioned in this forum, with web references. I did have problems with your Mikulasek link, though. All I got was a main page, with no apparent further links. Am I doing something wrong?
Old 02-01-2005, 05:10 AM
Level 1 user

Thanks Fritchie,
Yes, it's a big topic!
I thought it would be interesting to see who different members "dream team" would consist of. I'm curious to see if there is a consensus in this particular type of sculpture.

That is odd about the Mikulasek link. At the bottom of the home page, there are buttons for the pages. Here's some direct links:
http://www.mikulasek.com/sculpture2.htm
http://www.mikulasek.com/portraiture.html

Thursday
Old 02-01-2005, 11:44 AM
ISC Member

Check out http://www.luigigalligani.it/