Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Figurative Sculpture
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-13-2008, 08:35 PM
Level 2 user

Help with eyes

I am new to the sculpture field, still taking lessons at night. One thing I always have a problem with is eyes. All of the instructors tell me different things to do, and none of them work well with me. Is there some information I am missing? Most of my eyes are either too flat, or they appear zombie like. I am currently doing a bust of a friend, and I would hate to have her eyes flaten or become possessed.. Please help.
Old 03-13-2008, 09:24 PM
Level 10 user

Re: Help with eyes

If you could post a photo of your work here, it would make it easy for some of us to critique with specific suggestions.
Old 03-13-2008, 09:31 PM
Level 10 user

I'm with Glenn about posting samples of your work... makes it easier to be specific, otherwise we'll all be giving you different advice just like you professors.

I will say this: you can try doing copies of other sculpture's eyes. Seeing what other artists have done to solve the same problem can be helpful. It's also good practice. You only need to do one eye, so you should be able to knock them out in about a half hour tops. Make several and in different styles. I suggest Bernini, Rodin and Philippe Faraut for starters. Philippe's faces can be a little contrived, but his eyes are really good and his technique is simple.

Good Luck,

Alfred
Old 03-14-2008, 12:32 AM
Level 10 user