Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Figurative Sculpture
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-27-2004, 03:29 PM

direct modeling without an armature: can i do it with wax?

i am just beginning to seriously invest myself into figurative sculpture, and i'm trying to explore a few different materials. my first-love is stone, but i simply can't sculpt stone in my new york city apartment and i can't get enough hours in appropriate studio space right now. further, i figure 'reps' is what counts when developing one's self in a new discipline, and so i've been working at modeling/additive-processes instead. the thing that drives me nuts, though, is the apparent necessity of armatures, which to me seem like a harmful impurity in the whole unique process of clay/wax/etc: i mean to say the only appeal of these materials to me is their infinite malleability and therefore their ability to be so freely formed and re-formed--an armature kills this entirely.

in some of my readings i've run across mentions of wax not requiring an armature. a few books from the 20s i've ran across mention it in passing, and then i've run across one book ["Figure Sculpture in Wax and Plaster"] which I was only able to skim through that seemed to indicate that microcrystaline could be used in this way. But, when I asked around at the store I was looking at the book at (The Compleat Sculptor in NYC), they said it was probably a bit risky and a-bad-idea to do wax without an armature for anything much above a few inches in height [I was planning on working with wax at about the scale of Degas' wax figurines: 6-8"].