Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Construction techniques and processes
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-14-2006, 08:40 AM
Level 1 user

Beginner Copper working tools, etc.

Okay...looking for some advice on tools, etc.

I'm new to metal work sculpture, but I figure I'll start with copper. Let's assume I'm looking to work on a relatively small scale, light gauge sheet copper and the like and would like to:
1. do some shaping (hammering, forming, etc)
2. do some joining and fabrication
3. annealing
4. whatever else I can dream up
5. In the beginning, probably pieces no larger than 1 Cubic foot(ish)

What would be a good starter set of tools? I have a small shop in my garage, vice, work table and a lot of ideas.

Suggestions on hammers (and sizes), punches, safety equipment/gear, other tools.

Thanks and have a great day!
Old 06-14-2006, 11:58 AM
Level 10 user

Re: Beginner Copper working tools, etc.

The first tools I would get would be a few books.
One of the classics, even though it only covers copper as one of many subjects, is the great Oppi Untract- Metal Techniques for Craftsmen.
This talks about tools, techniques, metals, measuring, fabrication, soldering, and all kinds of small scale metalworking techniques.

Another good book is The Metal Fabricators Handbook, by Ron Fournier, Hp books- this is aimed at auto body customizers, but virtually every single page is of equal interest to artists.
In a very practical, down to earth way, he talks about different metals, how to measure, cut, shape, rivet, bend, and weld sheet metal into 3 dimensional forms.
For copper, you will need some sort of torch to anneal it- just like aluminum. And virtually every other technique for hand hammering forms is covered by RON- who is a maestro with a hammer and shotbag.