Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Community Help Center
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-06-2003, 02:00 AM
Level 1 user

Bronze Casting costs?

Hi to all people in this forum.
I'm new to casting and probably somebody can clarify some things for me. If I have a model made of plastelina 12"-18" tall. What price range I would have to consider. To get it processed and casted in bronze?
Is that like tens? hundereds? thousands of dollars?

Also what obstacles could arise on the way?

Sorry if this is to much of a question...

Last edited by Mickley : 08-06-2003 at 02:03 AM.
Old 08-06-2003, 08:37 PM
Sculptor

Bronze costs

Mickley - Many variables come into this, obviously - region of the country, complexity of the piece, so on. There also is the question of whether this is to be a unique, one-of-a-kind piece, or a small or large multiple. I would say that making the initial mold from your clay might be 50 - 60% as much as a single bronze cast itself. That is, if making a bronze cast from a mold costs, say $1000, then making the mold from the clay could be about $600. Clearly, one-of-a-kind pieces will be much more expensive, because the cost of the initial mold can’t be spread over several casts.

Overall, I think you should expect a ballpark figure of about $2000. It might be more and it might be less. Bear in mind that NY is an expensive area. The cost will be high there, but I wouldn’t think over $3000. Because there are many foundries in the area, you could get a lower cost.

Also, people have said here that it is advisable to get several quotes. You might find a good foundry in need of work and willing to give you a bargain.
Old 08-07-2003, 01:58 AM
Level 1 user

Hey Fritchie!
Thank you for your answer and your time.