Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Construction techniques and processes
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-04-2008, 07:08 PM
Level 1 user

Question Is Hydrostone outdated?

I am currently using hydrostone because I've got a small studio with only a few real saleable pieces. I'm still learning the ropes, so it works fine for me (and my limited budget), but should I think about moving to some other material if my studio starts to grow? I like hydrostone for the limited runs I'm doing now, but it's the only thing I know, so it's more or less just my starting point. I don't have any experience with other casting materials and wouldn't mind experimenting a little just to see what's out there. What materials do you recommend for someone at my skill level (newbie but learning fast)? Also, is it okay to sell hydrostone pieces as "art" or should I consider them "fine crafts" (ugh)?

Last edited by jkrecklow : 01-04-2008 at 07:38 PM.
Old 01-05-2008, 10:42 AM
ISC Member

Re: Is Hydrostone outdated?

jkrecklow,

"What materials do you recommend for someone at my skill level (newbie but learning fast)? Also, is it okay to sell hydrostone pieces as "art" or should I consider them 'fine crafts' (ugh)?"