Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Construction techniques and processes
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-31-2009, 07:44 AM
Level 1 user

releasing wax from plaster

Hi, I'm new in this forum but have an urgent question. I am a practicing but self-taught sculptor and I am busy preparing a body new work for an upcoming show. I am taking life casts from a model using Modroc bandage for the moulds, and using vaseline on his skin to prevent sticking. I am then taking casts in casting wax and soaking the waste Modroc off with water. I am having trouble with the wax releasing from the plaster. I pre-soak the mould with water before applying the wax and then immerse the whole thing in water to dissolve the bandage. The results are varied. Where the vaseline has stuck to the mould, it forms a water-proof barrier which then sticks to the wax like the proverbial ... My questions are: is there a better material than vaseline? could I use a soap solution? how better could I treat the mould than with plain water? and so on. Help!
Old 02-05-2009, 10:29 AM
Level 1 user

Re: releasing wax from plaster

Well a week has gone by and no answers - thanks for the help! In fact I solved the problem for myself and pass the info on in case any one of you keen correspondants find it useful - the answer is liquid soap, both on the model and on the mould, and it lets you re-use the mould too! Should have thought of it earlier but there you have it.
Old 02-09-2009, 06:35 PM
Level 3 user

Hi,
Just scanning through the threads and dropped in on yours. I have been working with wax in plaster moulds recently and I too, have come across stubborn areas that won't release. Will try the soft soap method, so glad you came back with your findings, many thanks!
Old 02-14-2009, 09:26 AM
Level 1 user